GFFA Show CHC Header 2014
HELPLINE:  09 820-5157
MEMBERS:  JOIN | RENEW
  No one logged in.
gluten free
gluten free

Eating Gluten Free



GFFAS CHC Inner 2014
 
advertise here

Common sources of gluten

Gluten is a protein found in the following cereal grains: wheat, barley, rye and oats. In addition many processed foods contain hidden sources of gluten.
Gluten is responsible for the cooking and baking properties of these grains. They are described as gluten-containing grains and must be avoided when on a gluten free diet.
Other names for these grains or common derivatives are:

Wheat

Barley

Rye

Oats

Any type of food containing wheat flour, wheat, barley, rye, oats is not suitable for coeliacs. This includes, but is not limited to; biscuits, cakes, pastry, pasta, breadcrumbs, sausages, sauces, mayonaise and food cooked in batter. Foods containing corn, maize, potato, rice, soy or tapioca are suitable for people with coeliac disease. For more information on foods that are gluten free and foods that contain gluten, see our Getting to Grips with gluten free page

We recommend you purchase our 'Reading Food Labels' booklet to help guide you with your gluten free shopping and our 'Manufactured Foods List' booklet to help you find brands and products which are gluten free. You can purchase these at our Shop

We also have grocery and manufacturer guides which identify shops selling gluten free items and companies that make gluten free food. You can view our grocery guide here and our manufacturers guide here